The Anti-Crab Cake

I really don’t like crab cakes. Perhaps it’s because I’ve never had one from the East Coast or something, or maybe if I lived in Maine I’d be all over them. I don’t like crab (tell me they don’t look like spiders), and I only like mayonnaise in specific situations (on fries!) so crab cakes don’t fill me with excitement.

NOPE.
NOPE.

But, we were low on protein things in the pantry and fridge last night and I spied a lone can of canned salmon. We also had steamed potatoes in the refrigerator (my kid likes mashed potatoes for lunch). Hm. I wondered if that could be made into a  crabless croquette or something? My knowledge of croquettes is minimal, but I knew bread crumbs and potatoes and fish were involved, and I had all three of those things. Of course, I realized as my creations were cooking that I was supposed to put the bread crumbs on the OUTSIDE. Still, they turned out fantastically even though they could have turned out epically nasty, and here is the recipe.

Sorry, no pictures, because we ate them too quickly and it was dark by the time they were done. Also, the name. Salmon balls sounds like a dirty joke, but so far that’s the best name a Twitter-quaintance has come up with.

Salmon Balls

1 can pink salmon

1 large cooked white potato, peeled

1 cup panko breadcrumbs

2 eggs

garlic powder, to taste

dill, to taste

Old Bay seasoning, to taste

salt and pepper, to taste

Mash all of it together really well, and if it is dry (depends on the potato, I think) perhaps add a teensy amount of water. Shape into 1.5 inch balls, dredge in flour, and fry up in a hot pan with olive oil. I sprinkled some red pepper (I’ve got two HUGE jars I meant to use for kimchi, but haven’t made the kimchi…) on top and they combined with the oil to give a nice golden hue to the whole shebang.

To go with, I made some capellini, and added a dollop of cilantro pesto to each plate. Oh! Also, I made a tomato salad that we ended up mixing into the pasta since I forgot to set out salad bowls.

Tomato Salad

3 ripe tomatoes, in 1 inch chunks

2 T olive oil

1 T balsamic vinegar

1 good pinch oregano

1 good pinch mint

Salt and pepper (again, I used red), to taste

Mix it all up and let it sit a few minutes so the flavors can meld.

 

Leave a Reply

