Banana Maple Cupcakes

Yesterday was my mom’s birthday, so I made her favorite dinner and one of her favorite kinds of cakes.

For dinner we had catfish, greens and rice– that’s a universal favorite around here! For dessert, my mom brought her favorite ice creams (Baskin Robbins’ vanilla and mint chocolate chip) and I made her banana cupcakes with maple frosting, which my daughter termed Bananatastic Cupcakes. I’m keeping the name! They turned out really well.

We have an excess of cranes around here, because my husband put origami paper in my Christmas stocking this year. Now, every time I'm sitting at the kitchen table, I fold a few cranes!
We have an excess of cranes around here, because my husband put origami paper in my Christmas stocking this year. Now, every time I’m sitting at the kitchen table, I fold a few cranes!

The original recipe was Martha Stewart’s Vanilla Cupcakes, and I fiddled with it to allow for the extra moisture and sugar of the bananas. You can do anything with her recipe, and it will turn out perfectly. Here’s my version:

Bananatastic Cupcakes

2 bananas

1 stick (salted) butter, room temperature

3/4 cup white sugar

1 capful vanilla extract

1 dash salt

1 1/2 cups all-purpose white flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 eggs

2/3 cup water (or milk, but my mother is allergic to milk)

***

In a large bowl, mash the bananas well until there are as few lumps as possible. Add the butter and  sugar and stir. I used a whisk, because it’s winter, my house is cold, and so room temperature was the sort of thing that should be in air quotes. When everything is mixed, add the eggs  and vanilla and whisk well.

Add the flour, baking powder and salt, whisk a bit, then add the water. Depending on the size of your bananas, you may have to adjust the amount of water or milk you add.

whiskwhiskwhisk

Put into lined cupcake tins. Martha Stewart’s original recipe makes a dozen cupcakes, but the bananas must extend that, because I got 16. Even better! Bake at 350 for about twenty minutes.

While the cupcakes cool, make the frosting!

Combine two cups of powdered sugar, one heaping tablespoon of soft butter, a dash of salt, a capful of maple extract, and two tablespoonfuls of water, milk or cream. Mix until smooth, then adjust the consistency with more powdered sugar.

When the cupcakes are completely cool, frost them and then give the empty frosting bowl to your already excited daughter to lick. She will chatter away all night, even after the guests have gone and she is in bed, right up until you pull the covers over her head (she sleeps all the way under the covers, and I don’t know how she breathes).

 

Leave a Reply

