These Coconut Macaroons Will Be My Undoing

I love macaroons. I also love macarons– but as popular as macarons are right now, I have to confess I’m not the biggest fan. Sacrilege, I know! Good ones are great– but not all of them are good. Sometimes the fillings are too waxy and buttery. I realize that too buttery is oxymoronic, but there you go. Not  a huge fan.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:More_macarons.JPG
Aren’t these lovely? I bet German macarons are tastier than Fresno macarons. But I’m not in Germany, so I’ll never know.

Coconut macaroons, on the other hand! If they are in the house, I will eat them up. I’d hide them first so I could eat them in a shameful dark corner– but my husband and daughter despise coconut. Thank God!

A few weeks ago, there was a recipe on Etsy for coconut macaroons that only required three ingredients. Until that moment, it had never occurred to me to make any, and they were just the sort of cookie I had to buy. But only three ingredients? I could do that! I had the wrong ingredients, though, so I don’t think they turned out as well as Etsy intended. The recipe called for unsweetened flakes and I had sweetened shreds.  Also, I added lemon extract in addition to vanilla– not a good idea. It brought out the processed flavor of the coconut. And I have a tree full of real, actual, live lemons outside in the back yard. What was I thinking with the extract? Duh. Not good, but as I said, I got over it enough to eat the whole batch singlehandedly. How am I not overweight? I don’t know, I honestly don’t. Yay for metabolism!

I ate them all anyway, obviously.

Ever since then, I’ve been thinking about the recipe. I wanted a little flour, because the all-coconut no-flour thing made them a little hard to chew. I mean, you have to chew and chew and chew. I also wondered why so many recipes called for egg whites and not whole eggs. So, here is my version. I like the whole egg– it gives the cookies a slight custard taste, which I like.

It's a good thing I'm not actually trying to be a cooking blog, because I know my pictures suck.
It’s a good thing I’m not actually trying to be a cooking blog, because I know my pictures suck.

Easy Coconut Cookies

1 14 oz package sweetened shredded coconut

1 egg

2/3 c. white sugar

1 scant c. white, all-purpose flour

1 capful vanilla extract

Stir the egg into the sugar, then add the vanilla. Dump in the coconut and flour, and mix until everything is evenly distributed. I added a splash of milk, just to help it along.

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, and cook for 15 minutes at 350 degrees, or until the tips of the coconut shreds start to turn brown. Let them cool on the parchment until they stiffen up a bit. You can eat them still hot, though! Be careful not to burn your mouth.

This recipe would probably have made more than 24 cookies, if I hadn’t kept eating the dough.

Leave a Reply

