Persimmon Cookies

I’ve been sitting around, watching citrus ripen. Of course I’ve been doing more than that, but I’ve been checking my mandarins, navels and lemons several times a day. I’m surrounded! It’s a new kind of navel-gazing. I wish they would hurry up, but they’re on schedule and not hurrying for anybody, least of all me.

What I’d really like to have next is a persimmon tree. I get a little ridiculous about persimmons– Fuyus because I like to eat them slice by slice until I’ve got a stomachache, and Hachiyas because I love persimmon cookies.

I pick up my CSA box at the Farmer's Market every Wednesday, and usually grab other stuff while I'm there. Also-- note that the bok choi is bigger than my head.

And that is exactly what I did with the persimmons I bought last week at the Farmer’s Market. Day before yesterday, the Hachiyas could wait no longer. They were turning into waterbombs, translucent skinned and ready to splat. Here’s my recipe, which started out like the standard recipe you find online– everybody’s grandmother copied the same 1947 Sunset Magazine recipe or something, apparently. But then of course I changed the recipe right away. Of course! In my defense, I had to. The recipe called for one cup of persimmon pulp and I had two. What else was I supposed to do? A simple doubled recipe? I think not.

I only wish this was my tree. It's hers!

Also, I should point out that I don’t like nuts in cookies, unless the nuts are all ground up, and even then I’m picky about it and prefer almonds or hazelnuts. So add nuts if you like, but I’m anti-nut.

And then my daughter doesn’t like raisins in cookies, even though she loves eating them as a snack, but golden raisins go really well in persimmon cookies– and flames are even better. Or zante currants! The regular ones are a bit strong, though, I think, and why overpower the lovely persimmon flavor with a bunch of  raisins?

Best Persimmon Cookies (No, I’m not cocky. Why?)

3/4 c. butter, softened (I like salted.)

1 1/4c. brown sugar

Cream this together. Lord knows how much of it went into me before I could stop myself. Is there anything better than butter and brown sugar, all smooshed up together?

1 egg

1 capful vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. ground cloves

1 tsp. cinnamon

healthy dash ground nutmeg

Mixmixmix.

2 c. persimmon pulp, Hachiya (We peeled by hand, then squished it into pulp with our hands. Because I wasn’t adding raisins and because my daughter was the main squisher, there were some raisin-sized persimmon bits in there, and I like it that way.)

Mix well again.

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 1/2 c. white flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Mix. It is quite a wet dough, so add more white flour until it is the right consistency for dropped cookies. Drop by teaspoonfuls on a greased sheet, and bake at 375 for 17 minutes. This is a wet dough, so don’t be afraid to bake for another five minutes. My oven is funky, so 350 for 15 might work for you.

Don’t frost them– it would be a bit much. They aren’t the prettiest cookie, but ohmygod, I will eat them all!

It took my daughter about half an hour to get ready to go to the supermarket. Don't you think she looks like Frida Kahlo, but with glitter?

She’s been sick, but she still dresses up to go to the supermarket. She also wanted to pay for our groceries with the coins in her little sequined coinpurse, sweet girl, and was upset when I wouldn’t give her my ATM card. Is this a sign of things to come?

Leave a Reply

