Maybe Don’t Ask Why They’re Called Butterfly Cookies

I am taking a break from fretting by baking cookies. I’d write, but my daughter has embroiled me in preparing for a party for a butterfly, put on by fairies. Apparently, the butterfly wanted orange cookies, and could I do that?

Yes, I sure could.

Orange Butterfly Cookies

I overcooked them a teensy bit. Good for dipping in tea or milk!

1 stick butter, softened

1 c. white sugar

the zest of one orange (I used Valencia)

1 capful vanilla extract

1 T. honey

1 egg

2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking powder

Cream the butter, then mix in the sugar. Zest the orange into the bowl, careful not to include the pith. Add the vanilla, and then beat in the egg. Add the honey. Mixity, mix, mix, mix! Dump in the flour, then add the baking powder. It might need a tad more flour to not stick to the rolling pin and board.

Roll and cut cookies– I used a biscuit cutter, because I like the scalloped edges. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes, or until they look like done sugar cookies.

Make a glaze with powdered sugar, a teensy bit of butter, and some juice from the orange you just zested. Drizzle on cooled cookies, and because this is a fairy party cookie, I sprinkled some orange sugar on top. It’s already a pretty sweet cookie, but there would be a revolt if I didn’t frost a sugar cookie in this house!

And here is what we’re listening to:

And

Oh! And now I’ve been informed that the butterfly’s birthday is actually in October, and it has been requested that I tell her when it is October. So we can do this again. Ha!

Leave a Reply

