Kickass Vegan Pasta Salad & A Side of Steampunk

We’re going to a barbecue tonight, and I wanted to bring something– but tomorrow’s my day to go to the store. And, truth be told, I need to go to the DMV, and until I do, I don’t feel comfortable driving about. So, what kind of salad do you make when you don’t have any lettuce and shouldn’t go anywhere to go get some more? Pasta salad. Everything-but-the-kitchen-sink salad!

I mixed all this together, and it came out pretty good! My daughter even ate some for lunch, and it hasn’t even finished marinating yet. Here it is:

Kickass Vegan Pasta Salad

You will need:

Shaped pasta, olive oil, cherry tomatoes, a small can of black olives, 1/2 cup quartered manzanilla olives, two or three tellicherry peppers, a can of kidney beans, one clove of garlic, and salt.

Boil a half package of pasta. (I made almost a whole bag of Trader Joe’s radiatore, and it was too much. Lesson learned.)

Rinse the pasta with cold water and a colander, then dump it into a large bowl.

Pour a healthy amount of olive oil over it and stir well. Add lemon juice, halved cherry tomatoes, beans, all the olives, and the chopped tellicherry peppers.

Mince the garlic and add that, too. Add oregano.

I couldn’t get enough lemony tang with the teensy lemons I have, so I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cider vinegar.

Salt to taste, then cover the bowl and chill the whole shebang in the refrigerator for a couple of hours. It tastes really good, and my craptastic picture doesn’t do it justice. One thing I would do differently, is to not augment my pasta supply with spaghetti, which looks vaguely wormlike. Just used shaped pasta. Spaghetti kind of ruins the look!

More colorful in person. I need some Photoshop skillz.

In other news, I’ve been writing. Every time my daughter is watching a video or playing on her own, I’ve got my notebook out and I’m scribbling. I’m writing at the kitchen table and outside, mostly. If she’s not watching a video, I put music on. Luckily, we like the same stuff, so it’s lots of Sleep Party People, Mikael Simpson, Trentemøller, Blonde Redhead, The Quiet Americans, Royal Bangs, Ty Segall, and The Black Keys (Thickfreakness era).

At the moment, I can’t get enough of this song. Every time it comes on, I stop what I’m doing and I’m riveted. I SO wish I could go see them in San Francisco in October, but tickets are $80 a pop, and we’d have to rent a car– it would end up being a $400 trip or something ridiculous. Sigh. Maybe I still will? I will just get a second job as a pole dancer or something. Joking! Kind of. No, really, joking.

Ha– Isobel is painting a clay pig pink and humming along to Blonde Redhead. I hope she never falls for Bieber. I’m imagining that part from Lord of the Rings, where Gandalf says to that dragonesque thing (Bel Rocque?), “You shall not pass!” I’m Gandalf, and Bieber’s the dragon thing. Balrog. I looked it up.

Oh! I was looking for a picture of a Balrog on Wikimedia Commons, and I found this:

I'm sure he's a nice fellow. I've never read his books, though I am amenable to Steampunk. I'm also pretty certain he must do the authoring with his left hand.

It is just too much work to find a picture of Justin Bieber and place it next to a picture of a Balrog, so I’m just going to stop now. Also, I am transfixed by this guy’s frowny countenance.

One thought on “Kickass Vegan Pasta Salad & A Side of Steampunk

Leave a Reply

