Neither Swedish Nor Snappy

Every year, the maternal side of my husband’s family has Os-fest (their last name used to be Oslin). It’s their own made up holiday, kind of celebrating being part Swedish, and kind of just celebrating the fact that they are all related to each other. Each family hosts a dinner for the night, themed, and my husband’s family makes gift baskets for the visitors– and because there are so many of them there is an overflow of Oslin relatives, and this time some overflow is staying with us. I’m excited, because this hostess thing is kinda new to me, and therefore bright! And shiny! But my husband is a little miffed that he can’t hang out in his boxer shorts and watch True Blood until one in the morning.

I am suddenly relieved that he never thinks to read this blog. But it’s true! That’s what he does. That, and surf the web for the Perfect Fuzz Pedal or overdrive or whatever.

My contribution to the dinner is pilaf (nobody needs a recipe for that, right?), and my contribution to the gift baskets are cookies. I thought I’d try something Swedish, and I found these but because I am totally incapable of not altering a recipe, here’s my version. I’m writing it down because they are GOOD. I should point out, though, that even though the original recipe called them Gingersnaps, they are as soft as pillows. Swedish Gingersofts? Swedish-American Gingersofts? Whatever you call them, they are totes delectable and would be awesome with coffee.

Swedish-American Gingersofts

2 sticks butter

2 c. brown sugar ( I prefer dark)

Mixmixmix.

2 eggs

1 1/2 T molasses ( I prefer dark)

1 tsp ground ginger

1 1/2 inches of fresh ginger, grated or zested

1 tsp ground cloves

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1 tsp ground cinnamon

the zest of half an orange

1/2-3/4 c. applesauce

Mixmixmix.

1 dash salt

scant 4 tsp baking soda ( It seems like a lot, I know!)

2 c. wheat flour ( I like the texture and flavor of whole wheat in spice cookies.)

2 c. white flour

a little bowl of white or demerara sugar for cookie tops

Mixmixmix.

Roll into pecan-sized balls– the dough will be sticky, but that’s okay. Dredge cookie tops in the extra sugar, then place 1-2 inches apart on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350 (my oven was at 375, because it’s a wimp. Wimp!) for 12 minutes, then let cool on a rack.

It makes a bunch o’ cookies. Forty, maybe? I ate a few, and so did my daughter, and then I forgot to count. A lot is the closest estimate you are going to get!

To get in the spirit of things, I listened to some old Kent albums. I hadn’t been able to get the newer albums for less than thirty dollars apiece, but then I was listening to a remix of a newer song– looked for them again on itunes, and there they were! Ecstatic happiness! Still no Hagnesta Hill for download, though, so I have to baby my CD and not take it into the car. Geez, I wish this computer’s disk drive worked! Also, there is some French guy on itunes also called Kent, but it does NOT look like my kind of candy.

Here is the remix, which I like better than the actual single, really. On a related note, I wonder exactly just how much bigger poor Mikael Simpson’s name will get in the font on my Tag Cloud in the sidebar. He is ranking right up there with Cookies and Writing, apparently. I can’t help it! I really like his stuff. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

Leave a Reply

