Tommy and Tuppence Sandwich Cookies

Iso's already had three. They might not make it through the night!

I’m going to eat them with some tea, while finishing off The Boomerang Clue (aka Why Didn’t They Ask Evans?) and then starting Postern of Fate. I don’t know where Partners in Crime has escaped to, or I’d be reading that. I don’t know about you, but when I was little, I wanted to be Tuppence Beresford. Let’s be honest. I still want to be Tuppence Beresford.

And the mid to late eighties (when I discovered Agatha Christie– and Margery Allingham and Dorothy L. Sayers, too, for that matter) were the perfect time, too, with the popularity of dropwaisted dresses and Erte. Perfect! I even had flapper shoes– but of course I was 12 and had nowhere to wear such a get-up. I must have been a kooky-looking twelve year old, with my crimson lips and silver shoes, prancing up and down our Weathermaker’s hallway.

In fact, I’ve always been attracted to the Tommy Beresfords of the world, and I’m pretty darned sure I married one. Does he even know? Probably not. In some future post, maybe I’ll reveal way too much and tell you all about the entire British village I made up, very Christie-esque, and the maps and plans for houses I drew up. Or maybe I won’t, because even I’m aware that’s a little obsessive.

So anyway! Here is my recipe for Tommy and Tuppence Sandwich Cookies.

1 stick salted butter, softened– but 1/4 stick more may have been good.

1/2 c. white sugar– but brown sugar would be good, too, I’d bet.

Mixmixmix.

1 egg

1/2 tsp. ground cardamom

1 capful vanilla extract– but if I’d had a fresh pod, I would have used it instead.

Mixmixmix.

2 c. white flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

This might be a little dry, so add a little water like I did, or more butter, which is what I probably should have done.

Roll very thin and cut with a smallish round biscuit cutter. I brushed them with half and half for a subtle shine, but an eggwash or milkwash would have been pretty, too. I am having a less is more kind of a day, I suppose!

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Let them cool thoroughly.

Now for the filling! I took about a cup and a half of Nutella– it is hot here in Fresno, and the Nutella was on the runny side. If it is winter, or you live somewhere with more than two seasons, you might want to microwave very briefly to soften the Nutella up. Then I mixed in a half cup of powdered sugar and a half teaspoon of powdered espresso. Once the cookies are absolutely, positively cool, put a generous dollop of the filling on one and squeeze the cookies together slightly.

The thinner you can manage to make the cookies, the better, because they are rather hearty– unless you are like me and are the sort of person who unscrews your Oreos before you eat them. Then it’s all good in the hood.

And while I was cooking, I was listening to this. This album just might be the soundtrack to my life!

Leave a Reply

