Why I <3 Thursdays

Look what I found on the kitchen counter:

I was looking for my coffee cup, and I found this. Put there by GOD! Or my husband, maybe.

I haven’t read this since I was ten, maybe longer. The book was published in 1979, so I must have been about five when my mom and I used to listen to the radio version (and Star Wars, too!) on our little transistor radio. Poor little radio. I took it apart a few years later, when we couldn’t get it to work anymore. It was the first in a long line of dissected appliances.

I probably have Mr. Adams to thank for my love of genre fiction, since he arrived on the scene of my tiny brain long before Agatha Christie. It has been so long, I don’t even know where my copies of his books are– so I’ll have to make a visit to my local used bookstores and pick them up.

And as I’ve been perusing the book while waiting for a phone call, I’ve realized that I probably have Douglas Adams to thank for Thursday being my favorite day. Well, wait. Maybe not. After all, Thursday night used to be the night Mystery! showed on PBS. I can’t remember which one came first. Still, as I’m rereading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy I am falling in love with his world all over again. It worked when I was five, and it’s working again. While I’m at it, I will profess a love, too, for the 2005 movie version of it. Hello, all-star cast! Martin Freeman and Mos Def and Bill Nighy in the same movie? I’m done.

Project 1 is going along swimmingly, and I’ve already reached my ten pages– it’s not even Friday! Woot! At this rate, I’ll be able to write on Project 2 and not feel an iota of guilt. Project 1 is shaping up to be the darker, more personal one, and Project 2 is looking more and more like a fluffy, cozy mystery. I kind of thought it was going to be the other way around, but hey.

And while I am waiting and writing and typing, I am listening to this— but the album version, and on my ipod. I Heart Them.

Leave a Reply

