Cookies To Eat Books By

When I am even just the teensiest bit stressed out, I bake. I should be German or something, but I’m not. My mom hardly ever baked, and my grandmother only baked kourambiedes for Christmas and koulourakia for Easter– that was it. Maybe that’s why I like to bake, because it reminds me of those holidays with my grandmother. Or maybe not. I remember trying to make a chocolate cake when I was still short enough to need a chair to reach the counter. I wasted an entire box of unsweetened Hershey’s Cocoa, trying to get the darned thing to taste like chocolate!

This week has been a big week– it was my first week back to school, and that always brings with it some paperwork and a bit of hullaballoo. A few days ago, we had a family date at Barnes and Noble, and I picked out a mystery to read (I also read a ton when I’m stressed). I’m reading a bazillion things right now, but they’re rather heavy, and sometimes you just need someone fictional to die so you can figure the world out again, you know?

Today, I was settling into my new book, and I thought, “Damn, I would really like a cookie.” And then I thought, “Double Damn, I have no cookies!” I poked about online for a recipe that did not involve Crisco. In this respect, the internet is both a blessing and a curse. You have access to all these Amazing Food Blogs, but there is also a lot of gross stuff, involving too many cans of soup and mayonnaise in really inappropriate places.

I think I have just made the best chocolate chip oatmeal cookies ever.

Object looks closer than it appears. The plate is small! The cookie's about 3 inches across. Ooh, but I like the idea of a ginooooooormous cookie.

The original recipe is here, but I’ve made some significant changes.

1/2 c. butter (1 cube, and I use salted)

1 scant c. white sugar

1 scant c. brown sugar

1/8 c. honey

2 eggs

2 tbsp milk

1 cap or 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

a few really good dashes of cinnamon

small dash of ground cloves

1 c. all purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

couple dashes of salt

2 1/2 c. oats (not instant!)

2 c. chocolate chips (usually a package)

Cream together the butter, sugars, vanilla, cinnamon, and cloves.

Beat the two eggs in well, then the milk.

Mix in the flours, baking powder and soda, and salt very well.

Stir in the oats and then the chocolate chips. Make sure the chocolate chips are evenly distributed!

Using spoons, drop 1-inch balls onto an awaiting cookie sheet. Flatten them a teeny bit, because they don’t spread as much as they look like they are going to.

Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes, maybe less if your oven is as hot as it should be. Mine is not.

And now that I have cookies, I can read again. Mm.

Leave a Reply

