Arsenic and Old Lace Cookies

One of my sisters-in-law threw a pre-Easter party, and I brought cookies, not being sure if the cobbler I’d made would feed enough people. I adapted this recipe: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2008/09/honey-lavender-shortbread-cookies-recipe.html to better fit my own tastes. At the party, one of my aunts declared that I should open up a bakery bookshop! How flattering is that?

Originally, I just called them Honey Lavender cookies– but when I saw my mother-in-law on Easter we rechristened them Lavender and Old Lace cookies. We both read a lot of mysteries, and we both love old movies, so I’m re-rechristening them, once again. These cookies are turning into acrostics or something! I figured that since this is my mystery-themed blog, it made sense to post the recipe here (my other choice was my knitting blog. If I ever make Celtic Knots or something, I can put them over there…)!

Arsenic and Old Lace Cookies

6 oz. soft butter
1/2 c. sugar
1 1/4 T lavender
2 T honey

Mixmixmix, then add:

2 c. flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

Mixmixmix, and you’ll probably have to add a tablespoon or so of milk to get it to hold together.

Roll into small, quarter sized balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet. Slightly flatten each cookie with a spoon or glass. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 350, or until slightly golden brown.

Let cool on a rack, and then dredge in powdered sugar.

I made a boatload of them. If they really did have arsenic, I’d be long gone by now. Instead, I’m just about five pounds heavier than I was just a few days ago.

Leave a Reply

